Angie’s Southern Kitchen

I stopped by Yummly’s to find a good focaccia bread that I could make sandwiches with. ( hard crust isn’t Bert’s or my favorite). Anyway the directions lead me to Angie’s Southern Kitchen (I’m still learning how to do a link, so humor me. Lol) 
and I have to tell you I was delighted. I didn’t use my bread machine, normally I use my Bosch, but this was a smaller recipe so I used my Kitchen Aid

Focaccia Bread

JANUARY 20, 2012 BY ANGIE

This is a wonderful bread and yes you can make this one in the bread machine. The boys love, love this one and I use it for many things. Their favorite is for sandwiches. This takes a sandwich over to a new level. I will make it to serve with pasta as well…hope you enjoy it as much as we do. You can change up the topping to suit your taste this is one we have been working on a while with and love this combo…hope you will too.

Focaccia

3 cups of bread flour ~ I use King Arthur
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons warm water
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 1/2 teaspoons yeast

Toppings

Maldon Salt
Fresh cracked pepper
fresh chopped rosemary
pizza seasons from Williams and Sonoma
2 tablespoons olive oil

I like to use only one type of yeast and yes it does make a huge difference in your bread and the out come of your bread. It is a commercial yeast. I order this from King Arthur and it does take a while for most to use this amount of yeast but this is a product you can place in the freezer and it will last for ever or close to it. This you can also get in small little packets from Trader Joe’s this time of the year..but, after Easter they take it off the shelves…Why, who the world knows?

I place all the wet ingredients in the machine first, this is what this machine requires. Water and oil in 1st then the dry ingredients.

I do my best to mix the salt in the flour some what and not let it get right on the yeast. Why you ask well, yeast does not like salt.

After getting all your ingredients into the machine turn on the dough setting. Once the dough cycle is complete I do let the dough sit in the machine and rest for about 45 minutes. Take out and put in a prepared pan. I use a 1/4 sheet pan for this recipe. I butter and put a piece of parchment paper in the bottom of the pan, place the dough in the pan spreading out evenly with my hands. Then I rub it with olive oil and let it rise until it is more than doubled. Once doubled I make indentations with my fingers of the risen dough. Then I top with the remaining oil and spices.

I let rise it a little longer until it is large and fluffy about 30 minutes. Then I bake it at 400 for about 20 -25 minutes bake it until it is golden brown on the top and bottom.

The sandwich above is made with the bread, crack pepper corn turkey, dry salami, arugula, avocado, cheese, mayo and crispy bacon. This is a great sandwich. You can just make the bread it is truly a great bread for pasta or soup. I hope you

About candiharris

I'm married to an amazing man, have three adult children and two wonderful grandkids. Both extremely talented and in College( although I may be a tad prejudiced ) I love God, my family, my quilting, new recipe's and I attempt gardening.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angie’s Southern Kitchen

  1. Jeanne says:

    Hi Candi,
    thank you for this nice recipe.

  2. dezertsuz says:

    If only I had a bread machine. =) That looks good.

Please leave a comment.

