Rain -Rain-Rain

Whoohoo, we had rain last week and it looks like a few more days of rain this week. Still concerned about flooding, the levies holding and the tree’s falling because of shallow root systems. The roots worked their way toward the surface for water and now with the ground saturated the winds are taking several out each storm. Fortunately no one has been injured, but property damage and tree’s landing on cars is costly. Better the car than the house though.

Our neighbors have large tree’s, but we don’t worry about them so much. We do have a very tall Palm tree in our front yard, but I don’t know anything about their root system. Might be something to look into today.

My granddaughter is due home from the Netherlands Friday and I’m anxious to see her. She’s been over there for a month and I think has learned a lot about what we take for granted. She’s had a great time, so I’m sure she has some good experiences to share:)

Hope everyone has a great day!

About candiharris

I'm married to an amazing man, have three adult children and two wonderful grandkids. Both extremely talented and in College( although I may be a tad prejudiced ) I love God, my family, my quilting, new recipe's and I attempt gardening.
This entry was posted in Drought, Family, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain -Rain-Rain

  1. dezertsuz says:

    I hope you’ll be able to share some pictures of Samantha’s trip. I’ve been told palm trees have shallow roots, because they thrive in deserts. However, the tree trunks are also more porous or not as heavy as regular trees. I’ve seen them fall, but not too often. I hope the reservoirs are catching this abundance and the lakes are filling up!

Please leave a comment.

